General V24.6 Feedback

For some context, I'm a reboot XCOM Veteran with over 2000 combined hours in both XEW and X2, I've also played Xenonatuts on Insane and X-Division on NG+2, so generally, I'm pretty experienced with the genre. I've finally managed to get my hands on the copy, and here are my general thoughts regarding the current state of the game:

The QOL:

• The UX in this game is so much better than in its predescessor it's insane. Interceptors automatically leading ufos instead of having to do it manually, Being able to keep seeing an enemy after breaking off los, UI improvements, there's so much.
  • One feature I'd like to talk about are health bars. X1 Insane had not only max Hp for aliens hidden, but also their damage taken. I had very mixed feelings about this. On one hand, it was frankly obnoxious. Having to remember alien tankiness from memory was really dumb. I used to keep a spreadsheet with alien stats dug up from game files that was used both as a reminder on how an alien is tanky in general, but was used to calculate what's the % chance the alien would die from the next shot. Needles to say, that was very tedious and very hostile UX wise. On the other hand, it DID give a degree of uncertantity in missions, which made it slightly more tense. Honestly, I hope HP display just becomes a seperate setting instead of being tied to difficulty, with users leaving it off if they want a more immersive experience, but turning it on if they prefer the more tryhardy approach.

AIR COMBAT

• The first thing that's immediately noticable is that there's simply much less of it. Some missions now generate without needing to crash a plane in the first place, you can realistically build far fewer interceptors etc etc. Despite the fact that I've kinda liked the air game in x1 and LOVED it in X-Div, I feel like this is a good change, because it was just too common, so it became repetitive quickly. That said, I still feel it's too trivial 90% of the time.