Linux Port

maep

Greetings,

I'm a C/C++ dev with experience with Linux and Win32 system programming. From what I understand you guys have access to the src. Is anybody working on a true (not WINE) Linux port? If yes, do you need help? If not, would it be possible for me to start working on a Linux port?

Sorry if this has been asked before.

This is unfortunately not an option, I believe.

We have access to the source code of the game itself, but the game uses an engine that we do not have the source for. Neither did the original developers at any time. And the engine is Windows-only (using DX is the most obvious problem), and so poor that it takes many workarounds just to get it working properly on Windows.

I'm a C/C++ dev with experience with Linux and Win32 system programming. From what I understand you guys have access to the src. Is anybody working on a true (not WINE) Linux port? If yes, do you need help? If not, would it be possible for me to start working on a Linux port?

You can have access to the source too: http://www.goldhawkinteractive.com/forums/showthread.php/10965-Community-Coder-Program!

As Solver said, a true Linux port is far beyond being worth the effort. However, not only because of the vast amount of work needed, but also because I don't think it's actually really needed. It'd be of course nice, but I in fact both run and develop the game on Linux, and I don't have a serious problem with either. Playing the game works just fine for me, so I see the need of a native Linux version largely as a philosophical issue only, and while developing it on Linux has its glitches and gotchas, it's still doable (and definitely much less work than spending time on trying to port it).