Why do aliens have such looooonng lines of sight?

Noob here, just pre-ordered and downloaded the Beta, and I don't understand why the aliens can see for so far.

My guys are constantly getting shot at by aliens deep in the fog of war, even the reptilian aliens who have crappy eyesight according to their codex entry.

I have soldiers getting hit with reaction fire out of the darkness, and it takes several turns to run my guys close enough to even see the enemy!

I thought that the free movement turn aliens get after discovery in the new XCOM was annoying, but this feels downright frustrating.

Is this a glitch, or is the game supposed to be this way. If so,why?

UPDATE: added more details, see page 4

Edited by embrace_Destruction

The unerring accuracy and endless reaction fire are undoubtedly due to be adjusted, as it's a pain. All part of the fun of balancing in Beta (candidate) mode. Hopefully the frustration won;t outweigh the enjoyment in the meantime. Types thothkins who just swore as reaction fire killed three troops in a single turn...

Noob here, just pre-ordered and downloaded the Beta, and I don't understand why the aliens can see for so far.

My guys are constantly getting shot at by aliens deep in the fog of war, even the reptilian aliens who have crappy eyesight according to their codex entry.

I have soldiers getting hit with reaction fire out of the darkness, and it takes several turns to run my guys close enough to even see the enemy!

I thought that the free movement turn aliens get after discovery in the new XCOM was annoying, but this feels downright frustrating.

Is this a glitch, or is the game supposed to be this way. If so,why?