I am an XCOM veteran and have now played XCOM: Enemy Unknown.

Yes, as the thread title says, I have now played XCOM:EU, and done it for several hours. And as I am of the old XCOM school (having played through all the two first games from the nineties and a greater part of the third) and also own the two first games. So what are my verdict? This:

In short: The game of XCOM:EU is very appealing to the eye, have the kind of graphics you've grown accustomed to these days. And it's certainly nice bling bling compared to the old games. But (and this is a BIG BUT): the game lacks the general atmosphere of the old games. Take the music* for instance, it's got nowhere near the suspenceful air of the music you had playing on the Geomap as well as on the menues and in building the base/ministering the XCOM soldiers. And the classic "burp" when you change the screens is important!

Though, I have not yet played for long, this general lack of dark feeling IS DISTURBING. I already get a "plastic" feeling from all the personas talking onscreen, before and between missions. The also look very artificial. No, I actually had to stop playing from getting nauseous. I don't know if I am in the mood of playing for a while now... Disappointed!

I will try it out some more though. Not giving up yet. But this makes me look forward to Xenonauts!

*The kind of music I'd like is more this:

Or this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=URtn78-kzFg&NR

Or the more modern version:

Edited by dracopticon
  • Like 1

I don't agree with your assessment. I have played XCOM almost non-stop for the past 2 days, and it's really good. The problem is that it is a console game, and it's a 2012 game, so it is much simpler than the original XCOM or than Xenonauts, but the core gameplay is the same and it is really addictive.

I think that XCOM is fun, but there are three things I don't like.

1. It doesn't play like X-COM, even though it's called X-COM.