Am I missing something?

I purchased Xenonauts over a year ago now on Desura, and enjoyed it quite a bit, even though it was very limited in terms of content.

I started playing it again yesterday and today, and it seems to be very similar to the game I played a year ago in terms of content..surely more has been done in a full year of development (plus a kickstarter?)

is there supposed to be the same basic map for every campaign mission? or did Desura mess up the version? because I remember there was only one map way back when I played it last year.

note: I've played roughly 12 missions now, on 2 different continents and the map is the same one every time.

Alot of changes have been made, but yeah on the skin of it the game still plays more or less the same as it did a year ago. however as some one whos been playing all builds since late last year i can say that massive changes have been made.

here is a change log which should help you notice just wants been changed. hope that helps.

http://www.goldhawkinteractive.com/forums/showthread.php/2958-Xenonauts-Changelog-thread

What do you mean by progress?

If you count only maps as progress, yes, there's still few. But tilesets number has increased, most are still to be finished and will be available from beta on, I guess.

But progress is another thing, is adding new funcitonalities, fixing bugs and generally giving the player a better experience, making little steps towards game completion. If you don't see this progress, please take a look at gnarly's changelog thread, just to give you an idea. Loads on new things have been added in an year!

If you still don't see them, I'd suggest you to wait until release (or beta, at least). Alphas are not meant to be funny/pleasant to play, it's only adding new things and debugging them.

For the £15, being one of the more expensive indie titles, there's very little progress in the game, which worries me.