Sign in to follow this  
Snarks

Chris! Xenonauts Original Development and Funding

This is mainly directly at Chris, but I'll welcome other comments.

So I want to make an indie game, and I'd really love to get some tips from the development of Xenonauts. I've followed development of Xenonauts, played it, loved it, but most of all, been surprised that it succeeded as much as it did.

To cut to the point, I'll divide this into 3 sections: my resources, my plans, and a series of questions for Chris (but open for everyone else to discuss as well). I welcome any criticism.

Resources

• [27,000 pounds in savings (converted from about 40,000 USD]
    [been exposed to coding (not saying I am an experienced coder, just that I know the basic concepts]
    [3 months to learn any kind of skill]
    [Friend in the UK who's a relatively experienced coder]
    [Worked on the Company of Heroes mod, Operation Market Garden, along with above friend (so we have good team chemistry)]
    [Friend has a basic turn base strategy game as his dissertation project. We are considering monetizing it as our first project for seed money, but we need to develop it further.]
    [Can do some basic statistics and numerical type mathematics]

Plans

• [Acquire a Visa via my friend in the UK; his university might be able to sponsor me for a 5 year Visa]
    [Move to the UK (to work in person with my friend & possibly take advantage of a cost production subsidy (~25% of production cost refunded)]
    [Develop a simple game before trying a more complex game]
    [use the Unity engine (engine choice is important and Xenonauts was pretty constraint by its engine)]
    [Find people who can do art, music, and sound]

Questions

• [How much funding did Xenonauts have initially? How did subsequent funding phases go?]
    [How important is working in proximity with people? I have no attachments in the US that will prevent me from flying over to the UK.]