[v1.07] Xenopedia Entries for Upgraded Aircraft Weapons (v1.0)

BuzuBuzu

Xenopedia Entries for Upgraded Aircraft Weapons (v1.0)

My Motivation for Making This Mod

I remember playing the original XCOM like it was yesterday ... wait a minute, maybe I did play it yesterday :D. I fondly remember reading the Ufopedia and obsessively going over the stats of different weapons and armors. The Xenopedia in Xenonauts is not bad in that respect but one part of it has been irritating me since I started playing v1.0 of the game. This is the lack of Xenopedia entries for the upgraded aircraft weapons. Recovering UFO data cores rewards you with the stats of UFOs (including hitpoints) but after upgrading to the second tier of aircraft weapons it's not possible to figure out how many of each is actually needed to bring a UFO down - not from within the game anyways. It's possible to find the stats for them in the game's assets, but that really breaks immersion and it's quite easy to spoil yourself silly if you look in the wrong place. There's really no excuse for the stats to be inaccessible from within the game (especially given that the Xenopedia already has a format for displaying aircraft weapon stats).

What This Mod Does

It adds Xenopedia entries (including pictures) that unlock with proper research for the following:

• Gatling Laser
  • Plasma Blaster
  • MAGSTORM
  • Alenium Missile
  • Plasma Missile
  • Hyper Missile
  • Alenium Torpedo
  • Plasma Torpedo
  • Fusion Torpedo

Installation Instructions

1. Back up your game files. Go to the assets folder in your game installation directory and make a copy of "xenopedia.xml" and "researches.xml". Copy these files over the modded files if you wish to stop using the mod.