Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Map Editor

  1. #1
    Moderator Gauddlike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    5,589

    Map Editor

    For those who have tried out the ground combat map creation tool with the recent builds.
    If anyone has any tips for making a good map or changes to the tool that may make map making easier please join in

    My personal experience is limited but I have only found one real problem so far and one thing I would like to add.

    - Tiles cannot go of the edge of the screen.
    This causes problems with things like roads. If you need to make and place a separate road section at 1, 2, 3, and 4 tile thicknesses for each direction it is going to slow down map creation and make people give up.
    My suggestion is to allow certain tiles to clip off the edge of the map, this could be a flag in the tile xml.
    It is annoying when you get to the end of creating a masterpiece only to realise you are going to have a road that ends four tiles from the screen edge.

    - No preview of what you are placing.
    This is a little more difficult to do but it would be nice if you could get a rough image of the object you have selected.
    May not happen but would be a nice touch.
    Devil's Advocate and forum moderator

  2. #2
    Beloved Leader Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,947
    You're referring to the level editor, right? Unfortunately in terms of making multiple road sections, that's just the nature of the beast really. It's not hard to create those maps in the sub-map editor, but it's hard to fit them together if you using only blocks of 5x5 roads.
    Chris England - Xenonauts Project Lead
    chris@xenonauts.com
    @GoldhawkInt

  3. #3
    Beloved Leader Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,947
    Although your suggestion to let sub-maps go off the edge of the level would solve it, it'd also allow people to put buildings half on the map, which would look a bit strange. I guess that would just be bad mapping though...
    Chris England - Xenonauts Project Lead
    chris@xenonauts.com
    @GoldhawkInt

  4. #4
    Moderator Gauddlike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    5,589
    Most of this post repeated what I had already said.
    Going to have a fiddle about with creating a few sub maps and stuff to see how it goes.
    Last edited by Gauddlike; 10-20-2011 at 15:34.
    Devil's Advocate and forum moderator

  5. #5
    Moderator Gauddlike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    5,589
    Nothing seems to happen when I follow the instructions for loading up the sub-map editor from the wiki.
    Is it active in the current builds?
    Devil's Advocate and forum moderator

  6. #6
    Beloved Leader Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,947
    You're loading up the _editor version of the build, and pressing Q?
    Chris England - Xenonauts Project Lead
    chris@xenonauts.com
    @GoldhawkInt

  7. #7
    Moderator Gauddlike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    5,589
    Yeah tried both version just in case.
    Also tried both in windowed and full screen, on all of the previous versions that had a gc_editor exe.
    Neither Q or Y does anything.
    Devil's Advocate and forum moderator

  8. #8
    Beloved Leader Chris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    5,947
    Ah. The old shortcut was 'W', not 'Q'. I'll go update the wiki.
    Chris England - Xenonauts Project Lead
    chris@xenonauts.com
    @GoldhawkInt

  9. #9
    Moderator Gauddlike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    5,589
    Pah think I tried every key apart from that one, wonder how I missed it.
    Devil's Advocate and forum moderator

  10. #10
    Space Pirate Captain Moork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    6
    I created a slightly smaller map populated with a maze of custom sub-maps each filled with shipping containers and a single office block off in one corner. It worked quite nicely - the shipping containers created lots of narrow alcoves and small openings to setup crossfire or take cover in.

    The only real issue I noticed was with the alien shedship and chinook placement, I know you can move them around using the levelsetup file, but I don't see how that will work in an ordinary game, unless the levelsetup file will end up defining spawn locations for all the different maps?

    I would've thought it would be easier to add the spawn locations as part of each map (as a special sub-map in the level editor).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •