The new guy: A.I. Developer #42 & Discussion on A.I.

So A.I.!

I've heard you guys were having a rough time with the subject, and after seeing a job opening I applied for the position!

A small introduction: I'm a quite passionate game developer, specializing in A.I., living in the southern part of the Netherlands.

Important answers for insight into the persona:

- Chrysalid, Chrysalid, Chrysalid

- It's called UFO: Enemy Unknown, dammit

- UFO > Terror from the Deep >>> Apocalypse

- Flying Power armor was O.P.; Real men play without.

Now onto the good part:

I want to be quite open on the A.I. development and plan to keep a journal.

The journal should be approachable by anyone (it shouldn't be technical) and the first two posts can be found here:

Xenonauts A.I. - Introduction

Xenonauts A.I. - Knowledge Systems Pt. 1

Furthermore, feel free to ask me any and all questions, apart from specifics on game content.

Also, I hope this thread turns into a discussion so you as a community can help guide me in the construction of the A.I.!

Confident he will break your unfortunate A.I. coder streak,

GJ

(Callsign Methius)

Good to see a developer with strong convictions. Your posts are very approachable. I do have a question already, actually. I once read somewhere (can't remember where) that turn-based games allow the a.i. to be more mature and advanced in its response to the player, because it has more time to consider the state of the game. Would you say that was true?

Welcome to the forums, It'll be good to finally have better A.I. than run around randomly and shoot everything or stand still and shoot everything. Looking forward to race specific A.I as well, help give aliens there own unique identity. Journals were very interesting to read as well.

Got a couple of basic ideas of how I think they should behave:

NPC soldiers - Either guard/patrol an area or advance towards UFO (set up perimeter), high emphasis on cover