PDA

View Full Version : Air combat looks familiar



GrizzlyAdamz
01-21-2012, 04:49
I haven't played the alpha yet, but based on the screens & video, the current gui reminded me of a turn-based, 2d tactical air combat flash game I played a couple months back: "Steambirds". If I may--

1. Was this already known, and will more of it be seen?
2. I can certainly dig this gameplay if this is the case. On reflection I can see it complementing the whole xcom experience very well.

Here is a link:
http://armorgames.com/play/5426/steambirds

anotherdevil
01-21-2012, 05:14
yeah it is quite heavily based on steambirds, all that was discussed on the old forums. But at the same time it is quite different (real time, no dragging bar to set speed etc.)

GrizzlyAdamz
01-21-2012, 07:02
Good to know kind sir; I'm not surprised, yet delighted that it was/is part of considerations, and also disappointed that my suggestion turned out to be redundant. Ha, mixed tidings indeed. I believe I may keep an eye on this game, looks good.

Moonshine Fox
01-24-2012, 07:58
I'm just curious as to why Goldhawk went with dropping the "Drag the heading indicator for speed" when there's an ongoing discussion on how to change the speed of airplanes in combat. >_<

anotherdevil
01-24-2012, 08:49
it wasn't an issue originally. Plus this is real time combat, not turn based like steam birds

Gauddlike
01-24-2012, 09:40
The planes head towards the exact point you select in air combat while in steambirds the click just sets a direction.
If you have clicked to set a precise location then using a mouse drag to set the speed does not make as much sense.
Clicking in the direction of travel then dragging is different as you are not setting a precise destination, just the way you want to fly.
I believe in older versions the planes used to reach the selected point and begin to circle but now I think they reach it then start tracking their target again.

xracer
01-26-2012, 06:28
i think the newer version is auto tracking and the planes adjust trajectory based on the selection, if the plane is targeting a UFO then automatically readjust if not they go to the selected way-point and start tracking from there. maybe i am wrong, but that is what i seemed to notice.

Amiga4ever
01-26-2012, 08:05
Plane start tracking UFO stright away. U can't set more waypoint than 1